By Allah

Mother,
I ask for mountains,
Let me inhale your earth,
So that your peaks,
Take root in my chest,
And my breaths echo against lungs,
The way his voice,
Traverses valleys.
His tongue moving like your echo,
And us colliding,
Over and over again.
Because you taught two,
Who gave heart to country,
What it means,
To be held between heartbeats,
Not severed arteries.

Mother,
Did you take the mountains,
From between us,
And place them within?
Because his feet,
Fall against an earth,
She carries in her chest.
And his hands tied to the conflict,
Entwined in her tresses,
Hold her,
Like she is an entire nation,
Raging against his chest.
Freedom falling,
From her unravelling locks.
As his fingers fall upon,
Collapsing borders.

Mother,
The continents,
Where your children,
Disappeared into Diaspora,
Are weeping.
Their heavy hearts,
Holding fragments,
Of torn people,
Like by piecing them together,
Home will fall between our fingers.
But our home,
Has never fallen,
Distant eyes,
Watch you rise,
Over and over again.

So Mother,
Will you take us,
Into your bosom,
Heartbeats against tears,
Let our cry mark rivers,
Against your mountains,

Mother,
Will you take me,
To the riverbank,
You prophesised in his dreams,
So I can clean the crimson roots,
Of flowers,
Settled in his eyes,
My palms becoming the colour of your soil,
His eyes still the colour of my longing.

Mother,
I ask for mountains,
Let me inhale your earth,
And by Allah we will love you,
Together again.

Mother,
I ask for mountains,
Let me inhale your earth,
And by Allah we will love you,
Into freedom.

By Allah we will love you,
Into freedom.

One thought on “By Allah

Leave a Reply

