I Want To Tear Down The Flag…

I want to tear down the flag you placed above my head,
Because under the flag of a tyrant my heart will never rest,
I want to tear down the barriers you built to suppress,
So I can stand by the side of my sister, who you fought to oppress,
I want to destroy the remnants of your empire,
The walls will come down,
Because in the heart of my homeland,
My people still stand proud,
I want to see the end of your reign,
Your throne as it rusts,
I want to see the downfall of the regime,
From within the belly of the beast,
I want to witness the rise of our children,
I want them to see what it means,
For us to truly be equal,
To truly be free from the chains of evil,
I want to witness a world,
Where justice will reign,
Where my sister will be free,
From your conflict and it’s pain.

I want to tear down the flag you placed above my head,
For it doesn’t represent me, or the tears which I shed,
Nor does it hide the guilt of your crimes,
Or help justify the lies which I was fed.
I want to tear down this flag which you placed above my head,
Because I don’t wish to be anything it represents,
Not the bloodshed’s, or the massacres,
Nor the wars which killed my friends,
The humanity that runs through my veins,
Will always struggle to comprehend,
With the vision of the flag,
You placed above my head.

One thought on “I Want To Tear Down The Flag…

Leave a Reply

