Free Waqar

Many Kashmiri youths are imprisoned illegally by the Indian state. Waqar Ahmad was detained without charge or trial on the 4th of October 2011 and remains in police custody today. A campaign has been started to free Waqar. More information can be found at the link below this poem, and the translation is below.

May Allah be with all those fighting on the front lines of our struggles against the oppressors, from the East to the West. 

Kashmir khi havaon meh hai naam mera,

Har maa khi akhon meh hai khoon mera,
Zameen khi mithee meh hai zindagi meri,
Raathon meh neendh nahi par har raath kha suraj hu meh.

Meray bhaiyoh khi zindagi,
Kah har raaz hoo meh,
Meri behnoh kee massumiath,
Khi hifazath karoo gha meh,
Meri maaon keh asmaaon,
Ka parinda hoo meh,
Meray Abu kee kurbani,
Ka naksha hoo meh.

Kashmir khi havaon meh hai naam mera,
Har maa khi akhon meh hai khoon mera,
Zameen khi mithee meh hai zindagi meri,
Raathon meh neendh nahi par har raath kha suraj hu meh.

Bachoan kha hasna sunoo gah meh,
Is wahdeh peh jaan dhoo gah meh,
Aghar din aya to phir mujse poochna na,
Waqar tumnhe har adamee kah kaam,
Apna kaam kyu banaya?
Meh neh kiya to kiya tumhare bachaon ke liye,
Jaan koh dee, to zulmon khe haathon,
Kha zakham ban gayeh meh,
Mere naam phe kurbaani path lagana,
Sirf aapna kaam, zindagi bhar nibaana.

Kashmir khi havaon meh hai naam mera,
Har maa khi akhon meh hai khoon mera,
Zameen khi mithee meh hai zindagi meri,
Raathon meh neendh nahi par har raath kha suraj hu meh.

En jailon khee andar saas lehna bhee hai mushkal,
Meri kurbani par aap neh kya kiya?
Srinagar khi galiyon meh har adami hoo meh,
Baramulla keh bandoh khe aansoon hoo meh,
Kashmir khi havaon meh hai naam mera,
Har maa khi aankhon meh hai khoon mera.

Waqar, ghar kab wapas jay gha too?

In the winds of Kashmir is my name,
In the eyes of every mother is my blood,
In the soil of earth lies my life,
I am the moon of sleepless nights.

I am the secret,
Of the lives of my brothers,
I am the one who will,
Safeguard the innocence of my sisters,
I am the birds,
In the skies of my mothers,
I am the map,
Of my father’s sacrifice.

In the winds of Kashmir is my name,
In the eyes of every mother is my blood,
In the soil of earth lies my life,
I am the moon of sleepless nights.

I will hear the laughter of children,
And I will give my life for this promise,
And if the day comes don’t ask me,
Waqar, why did make the job,
Of every man your own?
If I did, I did it for your children,
If I give my life, then I did it so I would forever be,
The wound on the hands of the oppressor,
Don’t link sacrifice to my name,
Just learn to fulfil your role.

In the winds of Kashmir is my name,
In the eyes of every mother is my blood,
In the soil of earth lies my life,
I am the moon of sleepless nights.

Inside these jails even breathing is difficult,
What have you done for the sake of my sacrifice?
I am every man on the streets of Srinagar,
I’m the tears of the people of Baramulla,
In the winds of Kashmir is my name,
In the eyes of every mother is my blood.

Waqar, when will you return home?

We Are All Waqar Ahmad  #FreeWaqar

Find out more.. http://www.freewaqar.org/

Sign the petition to Free Waqar.. http://www.change.org/petitions/free-waqar-now

Leave a Reply

